New: Destination Charger

Cancellation free of charge up to 7 days before arrival

How to get to South Tyrol - Check it here

Adolph Kolping and the Kolping Society

Inspiring good deeds

Adolph Kolping - his ideas and work outlive him, visibly present in Kolping Merano/Meran. Adolph Kolping was born on 8th of December 1813 in Kerpen near Cologne; he was the founder of the Kolping Society, today known all over the world for his charitable work. It was his mission to support young people and to accompany them in the various areas of their life: family, job and social life.

Adolph Kolping was a priest and before all a social reformer. With the foundation of workers' unions, he laid the foundation for the Kolping Society, today present and active in about 60 countries. The Kolping families are the local unions of this Catholic network - in South Tyrol there are about 16 of them. One is the Kolping Family Merano/Meran which was founded on 6th of January 1854 and visited by Adolph Kolping in person.

In occasion of Adolph Koliping's beatification Pope John II stated that "Adolph Kolping tried to shake Christians out of their lethargy and remind them of their responsibility in the world. For him Christianity was not meant for prayer rooms only, but for everyday life and the creation of a social reality." Adolph Kolping passed away in 1865 and was blessed in 1991.

His idea was that goodness of heart and a Christian calling should be expressed in one's life, encompassing family, professional, church and political life.

  • Culinary moments in Merano

  • Culinary moments in Merano

Bistro & Restaurant

Every time a pleasure! In our historic yet modern restaurant you are welcome anytime.

More

This website uses cookie profiling by third parties to show you advertisements that you may find appealing. If you would like to find out more or if you would like to disable the use of cookies, please click here. If you click on any other element on this website and NOT on the link above, you automatically agree to the use of cookies.
OK

Adolph Kolping und das Kolpingwerk

Inspiration für gute Taten

Adolph Kolping - seine Ideen und sein Werk leben bis heute im Kolping Meran weiter. Adolph Kolping wurde am 8. Dezember 1813 in Kerpen bei Köln geboren und war Begründer des heute weltweit bekannten Kolpingwerks. Sein Anliegen war es, junge Menschen zu unterstützen und sie in den verschiedenen Bereichen ihres Lebens zu begleiten: Familie, Beruf und Gesellschaft.

Adolph Kolping war Priester und vor allem Sozialreformer. Mit der Gründung von Gesellenvereinen legte er den Grundstein für das Kolpingwerk, das heute in rund 60 Ländern tätig ist. Die Kolpingsfamilien sind die lokalen Vereine dieses katholischen Netzwerks - in Südtirol gibt es 16 an der Zahl. Eine davon ist die Kolpingsfamilie Meran, die am 6. Januar 1854 gegründet und von Adolph Kolping 1855 persönlich besucht wurde.

„Adolph Kolping versuchte, die Christen aus ihrer Trägheit aufzurütteln und sie an ihre Verantwortung für die Welt zu erinnern. Für ihn war das Christentum nicht nur für ‚die Betkammern‘ gedacht, sondern für den Alltag und für die Gestaltung der gesellschaftlichen Wirklichkeit.“, so Papst Johannes Paul ll. anlässlich der Seligsprechung von Adolph Kolping. Adolph Kolping starb 1865 wurde 1991 seliggesprochen.

Seiner Idee nach sollten sich Menschenliebe und christliche Berufung in Familie, Kirche, Beruf und Politik wiederfinden.

  • Genussmomente in Meran

  • Genussmomente in Meran

Bistro & Restaurant

Immer wieder ein Genuss! In unserem historischen und doch modernen Restaurant erleben Sie kulinarische Highlight-Momente von früh bis spät.

Mehr

Diese Webseite verwendet technische Cookies, um die Funktionalität der Webseite gewährleisten zu können. Wenn Sie mehr darüber erfahren oder die Verwendung von Cookies unterbinden möchten, klicken Sie bitte hier. Klicken Sie hingegen auf irgendein anderes Element dieser Webseite und NICHT auf den obenstehenden Link, so stimmen Sie der Verwendung der Cookies automatisch zu.
OK